GHOST BUSTERS

Ute Müller, Michael Strasser
curated by Siggi Hofer

7. October 2017 - 5. November 2017

  • GHOST BUSTERS
  • GHOST BUSTERS
  • GHOST BUSTERS

Photo by Ute Müller and Michael Strasser

When entering the room, the eye will immediately search and find the places which it favourably accepts. And with continuous absorbing, it will revel in them in order to go down in memory. However, where it was static in the moment, everything in the recollection starts to swing, rotate and sound. It was never a circle, never a rectangle, nor a triangle, never anything whole. Before, the object was certainly there, now it is here, and then, it will be gone completely. One time, the sound comes from there, and another time, from somewhere else. Doubles and triples. Harmony becomes disharmony, however, to one that you could get used to. The confusion as a choreographer of human movements and actions, and as a producer of the reverberation and the recollection - the artist, she and he, is the perfect instrument or medium. Confusion is freedom. The apparition mostly arises gingerly, but sometimes quite suddenly. While the shiver is creeping up on you slowly, the leap back, on the contrary, happens fast as a lightning. The so beautiful creates problems, suggests this, and then suggests that, from time to time a solution or an end. The confusion seems calculating. A system that forces to think until the end, and everyone knows that the end is the assignment.

The ghost of the artist, she and he, did make a good job of it, and has created a universe only out of fragments. A universe in which you could either get lost or immerse yourself, or one that strikes back merciless, exactly at the time when it is at its most beautiful. With a flat hand into the face so that you hear it hurting like blazes.

To have beauty, you have to want it. Under the spell of contrast, we perceive countless shades of grey, among them the darkest and the palest grey that, one time, is mistaken for white, and some other time, is mistaken for black. Through permeable spots, coloured threads find their way into the exhibition. Disused beliefs seem to lie idle, seem to be abandoned, seem to be motionless. Like a ghost, as if by an invisible hand, lines and dots float, collide with each other, and would certainly get cracks and fall apart if they weren’t elastic like rubber.

The more we look closer, the more we detect diversity and plenty. Conspicuously, it seems that the realm of fragments and contrast has multiple forms, so that we are almost forced to discern, or compose, in order to get an organised picture.

But right before the end, a slight breeze takes the intention again to the beginning. Ute Müller and Michael Strasser are showing new works.

words: Siggi Hofer
translation: Stefan Thyri

GHOST BUSTERS

Ute Müller, Michael Strasser
kuratiert von Siggi Hofer

7. Oktober 2017 bis 5. November 2017

  • GHOST BUSTERS
  • GHOST BUSTERS
  • GHOST BUSTERS

Fotos von Ute Müller und Michael Strasser

Betritt man den Raum, wird das Auge sofort die Stellen suchen und finden, die es mit Wohlwollen akzeptiert und durch fortgesetztes Aufnehmen wird es sich an ihnen weiden, um dann einzugehen in das Gedächtnis. Wo es aber im Moment statisch war, beginnt alles in der Erinnerung zu schwingen, zu rotieren und klingen. Es war nie ein Kreis, nie ein Rechteck, Dreieck, nie etwas Ganzes. Der Gegenstand, der vorher mit Sicherheit dort war, ist jetzt hier, dann ganz weg. Der Klang kommt mal von dort, dann von ganz wo anders her. Verdoppelt und verdreifacht sich. Aus Harmonie wird Disharmonie, an die man sich aber gewöhnen könnte. Die Verwirrung als Choreograph der menschlichen Bewegungen und Handlungen und als Produzent des Nachklangs, der Erinnerung – die Künstlerin, der Künstler ist das perfekte Werkzeug oder Medium. Verwirrung ist auch Freiheit. Eine Erscheinung tritt meist behutsam, manchmal aber urplötzlich auf. So wie der Schauer langsam an einem empor kriecht, passiert der Satz zurück hingegen blitzschnell. Das so Schöne macht Probleme, suggeriert dies und dann suggeriert es das. Mitunter auch eine Lösung oder ein Ende. Die Verwirrung scheint berechnend. Ein System das zwingt, zu Ende gedacht zu werden und jeder weiß, dass das Ende aber die Aufgabe ist.

Der Geist der Künstlerin, des Künstlers hat ganze Arbeit geleistet und hat mit Fragmenten ein Universum geschaffen, in dem man sich entweder verliert, in das man eintaucht oder das, wenn es gerade so schön ist, erbarmungslos zurückschlägt. Mit der flachen Hand ins Gesicht, dass es nur so zischt.

Um Schönheit zu haben, muss man sie wollen. Im Banne der Kontraste nehmen wir unzählige Grauabstufungen, darunter das dunkelste und das hellste Grau, das mal einem Weiß, mal einem Schwarz zum verwechseln ähnlich sieht, wahr. Farbige Fäden geraten durch undichte Stellen in die Ausstellung. Ausgedient Geglaubtes liegt nur scheinbar brach, wirkt nur scheinbar abgelegt, liegt nur scheinbar regungslos da.Wie aus Geist und Geisterhand schweben Linien und Punkte, kollidieren miteinander und sicher bekämen sie Risse und würden auseinander brechen, wären sie nicht elastisch und wie aus Gummi.

Je mehr wir hineinsehen, desto mehr erkennen wir an Mannigfaltigkeit und Menge.
Wie es uns scheint ist das Reich der Fragmente und Kontraste unübersehbar vielgestaltig, sodass man fast genötigt wird zu unterscheiden, zusammenzustellen, um ein geordnetes Bild zu erhalten.

Kurz vor dem Ziel bringt ein kleiner Windhauch das Vorhaben aber wieder auf Anfang. Ute Müller und Michael Strasser zeigen neue Arbeiten

Text: Siggi Hofer