DIE VERWANDLUNG

Siggi Hofer, Franco Kappl
curated by Katharina Fink

10. June 2017 - 9. July 2017

  • DIE VERWANDLUNG
  • DIE VERWANDLUNG
  • DIE VERWANDLUNG

Photo by Michael Strasser

Siggi Hofer or Franco Kappl. Or the coloured crayon drawings of Siggi Hofer which are evocative of innocently violent illustrations like those in books of fairytales. A young donkey cranes his neck up high and screams as his legs are clenched by the hands of an, in other respects, invisible being.

Or an old little donkey with a crumpled face. The donkey kicks out backwards in order to defend itself against a snotty-tongued wolf. One of Siggi’s mommy-memories says that the woman who runs the bar in a valley in South Tyrol woke up her children and sent them down into the bar when the occasional nighttime brawls between the customers were looming.

Or a self-portrait of Siggi when he was a teenager. The title of the picture is taken from a text by the poet Norbert C. Kaser; on the 28th of June, in 1978, he wrote, “es ist kalt sehr kalt auch in mir.” How badly does a little bit of violet belong to the face of a young man! We have to remember that for the future. How vivid is Siggi’s red mouth: quite chafed from the versatile work of enjoying.

Or Franco’s daddy-memory according to which the bedridden was staring into the air all day long. One day, he wished for a freshly painted living room ceiling from his son. Therefor, the son had to cover the man limited to the sofa with tarpaulin before even starting.

Or Franco’s giant painting, acrylic on canvas; black, grey, and white, and a hint of colour, here and there. The paintings only recently came into existence and they will, in future and forevermore, appear as if they were fleshly painted. Gestural painting not as attitude, but as stylistic device that one applies, and then again doesn’t, or the attempt to be controlled spontaneous or spontaneously controlled. A difference for the whole thing and a pure question of nerves.

words: Bernhard Seiter
translation: Stefan Thyri

DIE VERWANDLUNG

Siggi Hofer, Franco Kappl
kuratiert von Katharina Fink

10. Juni 2017 bis 9. Juli 2017

  • DIE VERWANDLUNG
  • DIE VERWANDLUNG
  • DIE VERWANDLUNG

Fotos von Michael Strasser

Siggi Hofer oder Franco Kappl. Oder Siggis Buntstiftzeichnungen auf Leinwand, die an unschuldig gewalttätige Märchenbuchillustrationen erinnern: Ein junger Esel reckt den Hals in die Höhe und schreit, als seine Beine von den Händen eines ansonsten Unsichtbaren gepackt werden.

Oder ein alter kleiner Esel mit verdrücktem Gesicht, der nach hinten ausschlägt, um sich eines rotzungigen Wolfes zu erwehren. – Eine von Siggis Mamaerinnerungen besagt, dass die Barbetreiberin in einem Südtiroler Tal, wenn sich manchmal nachts eine Rauferei unter den Gästen angebahnt hat, ihre Kinder geweckt und hinunter ins Lokal geführt hat.

Oder ein Selbstportrait Siggis als Teenager. Der Titel des Bildes ist einem Text Norbert C. Kasers entnommen; am 28. Juni 1978 schreibt er: „es ist kalt sehr kalt auch in mir.“ – Wie sehr gehört ein bisschen Violett in das Gesicht eines jungen Mannes! Das muss man sich für die Zukunft merken. – Wie lebhaft ist Siggis roter Mund: schon ganz abgewetzt von der vielfältigen Arbeit des Genießens.

Oder Francos Papaerinnerung, derzufolge der Bettlägerige den ganzen Tag in die Luft geschaut hat; eines Tages hat er sich von seinem Sohn eine frisch ausgemalte Wohnzimmerdecke gewünscht. Dafür hat der Sohn den auf die Couch Beschränkten vorher mit Planen abdecken müssen.

Oder Francos riesenhafte Gemälde, Acryl auf Leinwand; schwarze, graue und weiße Farbe, da und dort ein Hauch von Farbe. Die Gemälde sind kürzlich entstanden, und sie wirken künftig und immerfort so, als wären sie frisch gemalt. – Gestische Malerei nicht als Haltung, sondern als Stilmittel, das man anwendet und auch wieder nicht, oder der Versuch, kontrolliert spontan zu sein oder spontan kontrolliert: ein Unterschied ums Ganze und reine Nervensache.

Text: Bernhard Seiter